Early Career Researchers

Among the objectives of the IGU Urban Geography Commission is to motivate and capture the attention of young researchers:

a) Incorporating new topics that respond to their concerns and research interests.

b) Opening a space for them to present their theses, with a dual purpose: to receive guidance from senior professors/researchers to reorient methodological aspects; exchange experiences, knowledge and methodologies with other young researchers.

c) Publishing their contributions in articles and book chapters.

d) Rewarding the best research based on two categories: articles and theses.


An annual competition is held to reward the best papers submitted.

Come and take part!

Chair of the Committee

Ludger BastenTU Dortmund, Germany


Members of the Committee

Dan O’Donoghue – ChairCanterbury Christ Church University, United Kingdomdaniel.donoghue@canterbury.ac.uk
Natsumi AkimotoUniversity of Tokyo, Japanakimoto@inf.shizuoka.ac.jp
Liliane BarakatUniversité Saint-Joseph de Beyrouth, Lebanonliliane.barakat@usj.edu.lb
Marcela DamettoUniversity of Sao Paulo, Brasildamettomarcela@gmail.com
Maedeh HedayatifardAllameh Tabataba’i University, Iranmd.hedayati@gmail.com
Andre HornUniversity of South Africa, South Africahornac@unisa.ac.za
Iago Lestegas TizonUniversity of Santiago de Compostela, Spainiago.lestegas.tizon@gmail.com
Reinaldo MachadoUniversity of Sao Paulo, Brazilrpmgis@usp.br
Lidia MierzejewskaAdam Mickiewicz University, Polandmierzeja@amu.edu.pl
Gustavo NagibUniversity of São Paulo, Brazilguganagib@gmail.com
Weibin PengNormal University, Chinapwb7129@hznu.edu.cn
Celine RozenblatUniversity of Lausanne, Switzerlandceline.rozenblat@unil.ch
Manuel SuarezUNAM, Mexicomsuarez@igg.unam.mx
Ivan TownshendUniversity of Lethbridge, Canadatowni0@uleth.ca
Jun YamashitaUniversity of Kyushu, Japanyamasita@scs.kyushu-u.ac.jp
Suhong ZhouSun Yat-Sen University, Chinaeeszsh@mail.sysu.edu.cn