Pedro de Almeida Vasconcelos – Roberto Santos Prize for Scientific Merit – 2017

Robert Santos.jpg

We are pleased to announce that the FAPESB of the State of Bahia has awarded Pedro de Almeida Vasconcelos with the Roberto Santos Prize for Scientific Merit. 

This is the third year that the prize of the Bahia Research Support Foundation was delivered. In the first year, the prize was awarded to the medical sciences (2015); the second to the exact sciences (2016) ; now, for the first time, it honored the fields “Humanities, Social Sciences, Arts and Letters ». 

The award ceremony took place in the presence of the Governor-in-Office of Bahia, the Secretaries of State, the Rector of UFBA and Prof. Roberto Santos, former governor and former rector of the UFBA.

We congratulate Pedro de Almeida Vasconcelos who was, last summer, one of our best guide in Salvador de Bahia.

Professor Christian Wichmann Matthiessen

The Queen of Denmark has knighted professor Christian Wichmann Matthiessen (former chair of our urban commission) and has distinguished him at the grade of knight of the first degree of the Dannebrog order.

Professor Denise Pumain

October 28th 2009, Prof. Denise Pumain, Professor in Paris 1 Univ., and in Institut Universitaire de France, has been distinguished at the Grade of “Officier de l’Ordre du mérite”, by the Minister of European Affairs of France. It’s a huge distinction honoring all her contributions for European building.

She’s former president of our urban commission (from 1992 to 2000).

Professor Michael Pacione

It is with great pleasure that I inform members of the Commission that the Royal Scottish Geographical Society has awarded its 2009 Research Medal to Professor Michael Pacione MA PhD DSc, Chair of Geography in the University of Strathclyde, Glasgow in recognition of his “outstanding contribution to geographical knowledge through research and publication”. Professor Pacione has also been awarded an Honorary Fellowship of the Society.

The Royal Scottish Geographical Society’s medals and fellowships are among the world’s most prestigious awards for outstanding contributions to Geography. Professor Pacione joins a distinguished international list of previous recipients of the Society’s Research Medal that includes J. Wreford Watson; Jacqueline Beaujeu-Garnier; Gilbert White; Ronald Abler; David Rhind; Paul Claval; Anne Buttimer; Peter Dicken; Doreen Massey and David Harvey.